Yankee Springs Recreation Area was once the hunting grounds of the Algonquin Indians and the famous Chieftain, Chief Noonday. The site was established in 1835, and the village was made famous by Yankee Bill Lewis, who owned and operated a hotel along with the stagecoach run from Kalamazoo to Grand Rapids.
The rugged terrain, the bogs and marshes, the lakes and streams, and the unique beauty of the park’s 5,200 acres lend itself to many forms of recreation. A modern campground is located on the shores of beautiful Gun Lake while rustic camping is available at Deep Lake. An equestrian campground and a youth organization campground are provided. Nine lakes are located within the park boundaries providing excellent fishing and water sports of all kinds. As a year-round park, cross-country skiing on its more than 10 acres of Nordic ski trails, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, and ice fishing are all popular winter activities. As a year-round park, cross-country skiing on more than 10 miles of Nordic ski trails, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, and ice fishing are all popular activities when weather permits.
Three special points of interest in the park are Devil’s Soup bowl, Graves Hill Overlook, and The Pines, accessible from the extensive trail systems.
Location From US-131, take exit 61. Go east on M-179 approximately eight miles to the park entrance.
Directions to Yankee Springs Recreation Area
From the US- 131 Exit #61, E. on M-179 8 miles, S. on Briggs Road 1 mile.
2104 S. Briggs Road